the sea at pett

October 24, 2011

The road from Winchelsea Beach to Pett Level runs along below the sea defence so the beach and sea are completely hidden from those whizzing along in every day mode.  On the odd occasion I give myself a treat + pull in to park + climb the steps or ramp. Not being one to look at tide timetables, I never really know what I shall find at the top of the embankment. Today seemed like a day packed with chores and appointments so thought I’d treat myself . . .  first view is a group of visitors huddling down out of the wind  . . . it’s a big sea – great!

Foam, crashing, inky liquid . . . spray throwing out droplets in arcs of 20m . . .

. . . lovely, refreshing, invigorating and just what I needed. The day ahead seems not so bad and feel more like waving than drowning!

Nobody heard
him, the dead man,
But still he lay moaning:
I was much further out than
you thought
And not waving but drowning.

Poor chap, he always loved
larking
And now he’s dead
It must have been too cold for him his heart
gave way,
They said.

Oh, no no no, it was too cold always
(Still
the dead one lay moaning)
I was much too far out all my life
And not
waving but drowning.   Stevie Smith  Not Waving But Drowning.

5 Responses to “the sea at pett”

  1. Adam Hodge Says:

    exciting and invigorating ! Can’t beat sea air .
    Great pics Julia.

  2. Cloudier Says:

    That poem! It has stunned me. Sea does indeed look invigorating, wish I could throw myself in there. A very refreshing and salty post.

  3. julia fogg Says:

    Sea very humbling and dangerous of course. But what a theatrical experience always !

  4. Anna Says:

    I have only ever seen the sea calm at Pett, we must pick a more windy day to visit, how exciting.

  5. julia fogg Says:

    I love the anticipation of climbing up the sea wall and then seeing the theatrical performance. A beautiful stretch of beach whether the sea is calm or noisy.


Leave a Reply

