analysis – appraisal – evaluation – analogies – obsessions . . . .

May 14, 2010

After a few posts, now comes the time for some self-reflection so, here I am gazing to the horizon – something I can do from my studio window too, thank goodness . . .

. . If you look  here there is a reference to teaching.  J. and I believe that encouraging students to analyse their own, and others, work will help them progress possibly even more than listening to us! All designers benefit from appraising their work and evaluating it against parameters. However, it’s easy to let this slip.

So, must make sure not to lapse into post rationalisation and simply review past posts against the sub heading of the title:  inspirations, ideas and commentary on landscapes – physical, mental and spiritual. Well, have been inspired to date and also the concentration of really looking, thinking about what my eyes are seeing and absorbing the experience has been exciting. ‘commentary’, hhmmm, this needs more effort, as A. has been saying, so will try to describe and discuss to a greater degree. This pic above conveys the analogy of information and experience flooding in, being absorbed before the tide turns,  then letting go and floating with the high tide. Think liquidity!

This blog is not based on work carried out, unlike Clive‘s and Anny‘s (see links) – to me this is more difficult, although I’m sure they’ll disagree with that comment! I’m trying to use this blog as a visual sketchbook that will develop and lead on to somewhere or something unknown – stimulating, perhaps a little intellectual and definitely fluid. So the pics above and below convey how I see this happening – layers and lines, never barriers,to investigate and experience and weave in and out of in all directions.

Someone commented that I should consider explaining the connection between text, visuals and poems within the blog. I understand the comment but, the selection of poetry is purely subjective at the moment.  The poems are analagous and often conceptual however, I can offer a hint about this poem, ‘Nevertheless’ by Marianne Moore, to me, it’s a horticultural take on perseverance and perseverance is the key to the success of the blog for me!

you've seen a strawberry
that's had a struggle; yet
was, where the fragments met,

a hedgehog or a star-
fish for the multitude
of seeds. What better food

than apple seeds -  the fruit
within the fruit - locked in
like counter-curved twin

hazelnuts? Frost that kills
the little rubber-plant -
leaves of kok-sagyyz-stalks, can't

harm the roots; they still grow
in frozen ground. Once where
there was a prickley-pear - 

leaf clinging to a barbed wire,
a root shot down to grow
in earth two feet below;

as carrots from mandrakes
or a ram's-horn root some-
times. Victory won't come

to me unless I go
to it; a grape tendril
ties a knot in knots till

knotted thirty times - so
the bound twig that's under-
gone and over-gone, can't stir.

The weak overcomes its
menace, the strong over-
comes itself. What is there

like fortitude! What sap
went through that little thread
to make the cherry red!

 Back to the first paragraph – as a designer and, at the moment, a teacher, I confess to be obsessed by concepts. Tomorrow I’m doing a bit of CPD by attending an event run by SoCo Arts  on Obsessions and Concepts. Charlotte is running this and as her work fills me with delight, it will be inspirational for sure. How one works through ideas that are never finalised and never should be finished off, but morph into a whole new world is the perfect conundrum. All to be embraced.

Will report back. The Atacama Desert December 2009

2 Responses to “analysis – appraisal – evaluation – analogies – obsessions . . . .”

  1. Cloudier Says:

    Ahh. Deep sigh. The Atacama Desert. I like the blog, gets better and better.


  2. I think that it pays to be flexible about how a blog develops once it’s up and running. I hadn’t at all envisioned how my own would evolve. I’d wanted it to be informal. That was about the sum of my aspiration. (I hate the usual manner of presenting artists’ biographies as a list, as though this in any way could encapsulate the experiences of a lifetime.)

    But what I hadn’t taken into consideration was how the blog would to a great degree be formed by the visitors to the site and the comments they’d leave. I’ve been persuaded to show things… my old stage designs for example… that I’d had no intention of sharing. Extraordinary friendships and collaborations have sprung from it. Certainly there have been times when I’ve been flagging at the easel, but have soldiered on to advantage simply because I knew there were those who were waiting for an update on a painting and I didn’t want to let them down. I’d rather dreaded the idea of the painting ‘diaries, feeling that they would expose me at times when I was struggling, something I’d always done in private. But the reality is that the process has not been as daunting as anticipated, and I’m glad now to have evolved a process by which I can look back and see how a painting has progressed from drawing to finished work.

    Your blog is evolving beautifully Julia. It’s unexpected and quite amorphous, and yet the underlying authority pulls together the diverse strands. I watch it with increasing admiration. I think that if it is indeed a sort of laboratory of ideas, then you may not be the only one to benefit from them.


Leave a Reply

